Monday, February 28, 2011

Dino Valenti (Dino Valente, Chester Powers, Chet Powers)

Various Artists - Sixties Transition
Sierra SXCD 6027 (2007) - US CD

1 - Get Together* - Dino Valenti - previously unreleased
2 - Black Betty - Dino Valenti
3 - Life Is Like That - Dino Valenti
4 - Willie Jean - David Crosby
5 - Come Back Baby - David Crosby
6 - Charisma - Bud Shank - previously unreleased
7 - Jamaica Farewell - Leon Russell
8 - Stewball - Leon Russell
9 - He Was A Friend Of Mine - Dian & The Greenbriar Boys
10 - When The Ship Comes In - The Hillmen
11 - Faretheewell - The Hillmen
12 - You Showed Me - The Byrds
13 - Airport Song - The Byrds
14 - I Knew I’d Want You - The Byrds
15 - Mr. Tambourine Man - The Byrds
16 - Each Season Changes You - The Dillards
17 - Someday You’ll Find - The Dillards - previously unreleased
18 - Don’t You Cry - The Dillards
19 - To Ramona - The Gosdin Brothers - previously unreleased
20 - The Times They Are A Changing’ - Hamilton Camp - previously unreleased

1) “Sixties Transition” is an anthology including some of the early L.A. folk-rock and progressive country material recorded by legendary engineer Jim Dickson, mentor and producer for The Byrds. 2) Five of the 20 titles in the collection are previously unreleased tracks, including the one featuring Lee as bass player, Dino Valenti’s generational anthem “(Let’s) Get Together”. The song is performed here with just Valenti on voice and guitar and Lee on bass. 3) CD album comes with a 12-page booklet including introduction and liner notes by Jim Dickson, plus further track-by-track notes by hippy icon Wavy Gravy. Please refer to original booklet for these. 4) Booklet also includes a number of black & white and color pictures of some of the artists involved. 5) Credits do not include musicians line-ups for the following groups: Dian & The Greenbriar Boys, The Hillmen (with Chris Hillman, Rex Gosdin and Vern Gosdin), The Byrds, The Dillards and The Gosdin Brothers. 6) Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 16, 18 were originally included in the US anthology LP “Early L.A.” released in 1971 on Together Records ST-T-1014. 7) Tracks 12, 13, 14, 15 were originally included in the US Byrds anthology LP “Preflyte” released in 1969 on Together Records ST-T-1001. 8) Tracks 10, 11 were originally included in the US LP “The Hillmen” released in 1970 on Together Records ST-T-1012, reissued in 1981 on the Sugar Hill LP “The Hillmen” SH-3719 and currently available as a special collectors extended edition on Sierra Records M 101. 9) CD album is available from the Sierra Records online shop at . 10) My heartfelt thanks for help to John Delgatto.

Dino Valenti - Vocals, Guitar
Lee Sklar - Bass (1)*
David Crosby - Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Larry Knechtel - Bass
Ray Pohlman - Bass (as Ray Puhlman)
Jimmy Bond - Bass
Chris Hillman - Bass
Hal Blaine - Drums, Percussion
Earl Palmer - Drums
Michael Clarke - Drums
Tommy Tedesco - Lead Guitar
Joe Pass - Lead Guitar
Glen Campbell - Guitar, 12 String Guitar
Roger McGuinn - 12 String Guitar (as Roger (James) McGuinn)
Leon Russell - Harpsichord, Muted Harpsichord
Bill Cunningham - Mandolin
Bud Shank - Flute
Ray Triscari - Trumpet
Emil Richards - Marimba

All tracks produced by Jim Dickson
Tracks 7, 8, 9, 10 courtesy of Warner Bros. Records
Tracks 10, 11 courtesy of Sugar Hill Records

Nick Fainburg - Additional Mixing

Additional Mixing Studio:
Costa Mesa Recording

Aaron Hook - Mastering Engineer
John Strother - Mastering Engineer

John Delgatto - Graphics Design
Jim Dickson - Photography, Liner Notes (September, 2007)
Barry Feinstein - Photography (The Byrds)
Jim Marshall - Photography (Dino Valenti)
Henry Diltz - Photography (The Dillards)
Wavy Gravy - Liner Notes

“Special thanks: Lee Sklar, Roger McGuinn, Chris Hillman, Barry Feinstein, Vern Gosdin, Bud Shank, Jimmy Bond”.

Hoyt Axton
Ray Charles
Gene Clark
David Crosby
Rodney Dillard
Bob Dylan
Lord Burgess
Bill Martin
Jim McGuinn
Chester Powers (as Dino Valenti)
Bud Shank
Ruth Talley

source/pic: my records
“Early L.A.”/“Preflyte”/”The Hillmen” data: the web

No comments:

Post a Comment