Saturday, June 2, 2018

Michael McDonald

Michael McDonald - Wide Open
Chonin Records 538305292 (2017) - US CD

1 - Hail Mary
2 - Just Strong Enough
3 - Find It In Your Heart
4 - Half Truth
5 - Ainʼt No Good
6 - Honest Emotion
7 - Blessing In Disguise
8 - Dark Side*
9 - If You Wanted To Hurt Me
10 - Beautiful Child
11 - Too Short
12 - Free A Man

Michael McDonald - Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Wurlitzer, Piano, Rhodes, Keyboard, Synths, Additional Synth Pads, Clav, Wah Clav, Brass Pad, Harmonica
Leland Sklar - Bass (8)*
Craig Young - Bass
Willie Weeks - Bass
Marcus Miller - Bass
Lanice Morrison - Bass
Tony Lucido - Bass
Tommy Simms - Bass
Michael Rhodes - Bass
Shannon Forrest - Drums (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12), Percussion (1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12), Drum Loop, Brushes, Synth Bass, Synths
Drew Ramsey - Electric Guitar
Warren Haynes - Electric Guitar
Robben Ford - Electric Guitar, Electric Guitar Solo
Michael Landau - Electric Guitar, Slide Guitar, Outro Solo, Guitar Solo, Electric Guitar Fills
Dann Huff - Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Guitar Solo
Bernie Chiaravalle - 12 String Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar
David Levita - Electric Guitars, Acoustic Guitar, Additional Guitar, Additional Electric Guitar,  Rhythm Electric Guitar, Robot Guitar Solo
Ilya Toshinski - Acoustic Guitar, Additional Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin
Danny Rader - Acoustic Guitar, Bouzouki
Sol Littlefield - Additional Electric Guitar, Electric Guitar Solo
Larry Goldings - B3
David Paich - B3, Synth
Mike Rojas - Rhodes
Tim Akers - Synth
Jeff Roach - Synths
John Peppard - Synth Sequence
Steve Porcaro - Synths, Synth Effects
Michael Leonhart - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Harry Kim - Trumpet
Tom Scott - Sax Solo
Branford Marsalis - Soprano Sax
Scott Mayo - Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
George Shelby - Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone
Andrew Lippman - Trombone
Mark Mullins and The Levee Horns:
Mark Mullins - Trombone
Barry Green - Trombone
Bobby Campo - Trumpet
Steve Patrick - Trumpet
Matt Perrine - Sousaphone
Ward Smith - Tenor Sax
Mark Douthit - Sax Solo, Sax
Kris Wilkinson Strings - Strings
Amy Holland McDonald - Guest Vocal
Drea Renee - Guest Vocal

Produced by Shannon Forest, Michael McDonald

Michael McDonald - String Arrangement (8), Horn Arrangement (1)
Matt McCauley - String Arrangement (2), Conductor (2)
Shannon Forrest - String Arrangement (6), Drum Programming (3, 4, 6, 7, 8)
John Peppard - Original Arrangement (7)
Mark Mullins - Horn Arrangement (2)
Michael Leonhart - Horn Arrangement (3)
David Frank - Horn Arrangement (12)
Mark Douthit - Additional Horn Arrangement (2), Sax Arrangement (11)

Shannon Forest - Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer
Nathan Yarborough - Additional Engineering
Jarad Clement - Additional Engineering
Jasper Lemaster - Additional Engineering
Grady Walker - Additional Engineering

Recording and Mixing Studio:
Metal Building Studio, Nolensville, TN

Bob Ludwig - Mastering Engineer

Mastering Studios:
Gateway Mastering Studios, Portland, ME

Kathy Walker - Production Assistant

Jordan Fann - Art Direction, Package Design
Joel Hoffner - Art Direction, Package Design
Jon Romero - Art Direction, Package Design

“Michael wishes to give special thanks to: // Amy Holland (McDonald), Dylan and Scarlett McDonald, Kathy and Grady Walker, Quanna, Ethan, Isaiah, Avery and Emmaline Forrest. Ken Levitan, Joel Hoffner, and all the staff at Vector Management. Bernie Gudvi, Anna McNeal, Monica Cisek, and all the staff at GSO Group. // Sincere thanks to all the songwriters, musicians, engineers, singers and technical-support people who made this record possible.”.

“Shannon Forrest wishes to thank: // Shannon would like to thank his family for their love and support; and all the musicians, singers, and arrangers for their inspiring performances on the record. Special thanks to Ronnie Kittell for his expertise. // Lastly, thank you to Michael McDonald for his friendship and dedication to his craft.”.

“Song lyrics are available at”.

Michael McDonald
Russ Bono
Bernie Chiaravalle
Charles Fichtel
John Goodwin
Peter Leinheiser
Dylan McDonald
Gary Nicholson
Beth Nielsen Chapman
John Peppard
Chuck Sabatino
Richard Stekol
Grady Walker

source/pic: my records

Friday, June 1, 2018

June 29, 2018 - The Immediate Family in Performance at The Grammy Museum, Los Angeles

Waddy Wachtel, Niko Bolas, Lee Sklar, Fred Mollin, Danny Kortchmar, Russ Kunkel and Steve Postell

An intimate performance by The Immediate Family, followed by a conversation with the group, will be held June 29 at the Clive Davis Theater in the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles. The event will be hosted by the Grammy Museumʼs Executive Director Scott Goldman, starting at 7.30 PM (doors: 7.00).

The Immediate Family, consisting of five of the world’s most iconic and recorded session and touring musicians, began as a studio project band on Danny Kortchmar’s new solo CD “Honey Donʼt Leave L.A.”, with guest performances by James Taylor, Jackson Browne, David Crosby and Michael McDonald.

The band decided to take the project on the road after completing the CD album, and its line-up is as follows: Danny Kortchmar (guitar and lead vocals), Waddy Wachtel (guitar and vocals), Steve Postell (guitar and vocals), Leland Sklar (bass) and Russ Kunkel (drums).

Please go to the page for more details, prices and tickets.

Danny Kortchmar & The Immediate Family - New Record Out and Live in Japan

Lee is hitting the road in Japan as part of the Danny Kortchmar & Immediate Family project, a live supergoup event that comes with a new record release by Danny and the group itself. The CD album by the title of  “Honey Donʼt Leave L.A.” sees Kortchmar accompanied by the line-up of Lee, Russ Kunkel, Waddy Wachtel, Jim Cox and Steve Postell. We are working on a proper post about the CD album, but in the meantime we thought you would enjoy the EPK of the project and the tracklist, which is as follows: All She Wants To Do Is Dance/Dirty Laundry/Can't Do Crazy/Machine Gun Kelly/Somebodyʼs Baby/Not Drinking Enough/Shaky Town/Cruel Twist/New York Minute/Top Of The Rock/ Sayonara/Honey Donʼt Leave L.A. Guest artist on the record are Jackson Browne, James Taylor, David Crosby and Michael McDonald.

Japan date is for now on June 14, 2018, with two shows at the Billboard Live in Osaka: 1st Stage Open 17:30 Start 18:30, 2nd Stage Open 20:30 Start 21:30.

Show line up is Danny Kortchmar (Guitar, Vocals), Russ Kunkel (Drums), Leland Sklar (Bass), Waddy Wachtel (Guitar, Vocals) and Steve Postell (Guitar, Vocals).

Please go to the page for more details, prices and tickets.

Stay tuned!

“Honey Donʼt Leave L.A.” - Japan CD - front inlay