Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Olivia Newton-John

Olivia Newton-John - Making A Good Thing Better
MCA MCA-2280 (1977) - US LP
Universal Music UICY-10005 (2010) - Japan CD - HMCD reissue with 2 bonus tracks

Side One

1 - Making A Good Thing Better*
2 - Slow Dancing*
3 - Ring Of Fire*
4 - Coolin’ Down*

5 - Don’t Cry For Me Argentina

Side Two

6 - Sad Songs*
7 - You Won’t See Me Cry*
8 - So Easy To Begin*
9 - I Think I’ll Say Goodbye*
10 - Don’t Ask A Friend*
11 - If Love Is Real*

bonus tracks

12 - Never The Less / As Time Goes By - live in Japan 1976
13 - Rest Your Love On Me - with Andy Gibb

Notes: 1) Above picture and following credits were taken from the 2010 Japan HMCD reissue. 2) Japan reissue does not come with musician credits for the two bonus tracks. 3) According to web sources there exists a further Japan HMCD reissue with same bonus tracks but coming in a paper sleeve package on Universal UICY-94714. Please note that the Japan translation insert coming with this non-paper sleeve release indicates a ‘papersleeve reissue staff’. This makes it safe to assume that the only difference between the two remastered Japan reissues in question is indeed the packaging. 4) Only remixing studio specified is for track 5, thus all other studios are being indicated simply as ‘studios’. 5) Only engineer indicated for track 5 is Armin Steiner. Mr. Steiner is also one of the other recording engineers credited for the rest of the tracks.

Olivia Newton-John - Vocals, Backing Vocals, Background Vocals
Lee Sklar - Bass (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11)*
Jeff Porcaro - Drums (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11), Percussion (1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11)
John Farrar - Electric Guitar, Acoustic Slide Guitar, Electric Slide Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals
Jay Graydon - Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Slide Guitar
“Sneaky” Pete Kleinow - Steel (as Sneaky Pete)
Doug Livingston - Steel
Greg Mathieson - Piano, Clavinet, Electric Piano, Synthesizers, Harpsichord
James Newton-Howard - Piano, Harpsichord
Randy Edelman - Harmonium
George Marge - Oboe, Ocarina
Tommy Morgan - Harmonica
Byron Berline - Fiddle, Mandolin
Joe Porcaro - Percussion (1, 7)
Myrna Mathews - Background Vocals
Laura Creamer - Background Vocals
Julia Rinker - Background Vocals
Marti McCall - Background Vocal
Pattie Brooks - Background Vocal

Produced by John Farrar

James Newton Howard (as James Newton-Howard) - String
Arrangements (1, 2, 4, 6, 10), String Conduction (1, 2, 4, 6, 10)
David Campbell - String Arrangement (8), String Conduction (8)
Peter Myers - Orchestra Arrangement (5), Orchestra Conduction (5)

Bill Schnee - Recording Engineer, Remixing Engineer
Armin Steiner - Recording Engineer (only engineer on track 5)
Linda Tyler - Recording Engineer
Tom Bush - Recording Engineer
Elliot Scheiner - Remixing Engineer

Sound Labs, Inc.
Sunset Sound Recorders
Hollywood Sound
United Western Recorders
A&R Studios, New York
The Little Mountain Sound Co., Vancouver (5)

Remixing Studio:
The Little Mountain Sound Co., Vancouver (5)

Bob Stone - Photos
George Osaki - Art Direction

Track 5:
“(From the opera “Evita”)”.
““Don’t Cry For Me Argentina” was recorded and remixed in Vancouver at The Little Mountain Sound Co. Engineered by Armin Steiner.”.

“Special Thanks to all our friends in Vancouver and to everyone who has contributed to this album.”.

Japan Reissue Additional Credits

Yasuhito Kitai - Liner Notes

Papersleeve Reissue Staff:

Hitoshi Tukituki - Mastering Engineer

Mastering Studio:
Universal Mastering Studios

Minoru Harada - Product Manager
Soichiro Shibata (Universal Music LLC) - Product Manager

Yasuhito Kitai - Artwork Research
Naoki Sawada - Artwork Research
Chihiro Nozaki (Face Design) - Artwork Coordinator
Michiyo Goda (Universal Music LLC) - Artwork Coordinator

“24bit Remaster 2010”.


Olivia Newton-John
Billy Alessi
Bobby Alessi
June Carter
Marshall Chapman
Randy Edelman
Joe Falsia
John Farrar
Merle Kilgore
Andrew Lloyd Webber
Tim Rice
Jim Rushing
Jules Shear
Stephen Sinclair
Jack Tempchin
Peter Wingfield
Additional Songwriters (bonus tracks):
Barry Gibb
Herman Hupfeld
Bert Kalmar
Harry Ruby

source/pic: my records
US LP catalog #: the web

No comments:

Post a Comment