Saturday, May 5, 2012

“Toast to Freedom” - Song Tribute to Amnesty International’s 50th Anniversary

Three days ago, 0n May 2, Amnesty International released Toast To Freedom, a new and exclusive commemorative song dedicated to human rights activism around the world and performed by the following artists, including the late Levon Helm: Zachary Alford, Arno, Jimmy Barnes, Mahalia Barnes, Jane Birkin, Bertha Blades, the Blind Boys of Alabama, Eric Burdon, Max Buskohl, Larry Campbell, Carl Carlton, Rosanne Cash, Christine & The Queens, David D'Or, Sussan Deyhim, Donald Fagen, Marianne Faithfull, Gentleman, Warren Haynes, Amy Helm, Matthew Houck, Emmanuel Jal, Essie Jain, Angelique Kidjo, Pascal Kravetz, Kris Kristofferson, Sonny Landreth, John Leventhal, Ewan McGregor, Taj Mahal, Keb Mo, Moses Mo, Shawn Mullins, Nacho Campillo, JP Nataf, Florent Pagny, Axelle Red, Jerry “Wizard” Seay, Wayne P. Sheehy, Carly Simon, Vida Simon, Sir Samuel, Christophe Willem, Teresa Williams.

Written by guitarist/producers Larry Campbell (Levon Helm Band, Bob Dylan, Elvis Costello) and Carl Carlton (Robert Palmer, Eric Burdon, Keb Mo), Toast To Freedom is the brainchild of Carlton and longtime music industry executive, activist, and entrepreneur Jochen Wilms in collaboration with Art for Amnesty founder Bill Shipsey. The project celebrates Amnesty International’s 50th anniversary and was released to coincide with World Press Freedom Day.

Toast To Freedom is available for pre-order now on iTunes in many countries around the world and via online retailers worldwide starting Tuesday, May 8. Net proceeds will benefit Amnesty International. For more info please go to the official website.

To kick off the worldwide release of Toast To Freedom the Art for Amnesty Band featuring Lee, Kris Kristofferson, Jonny Lang, Shawn Mullins, Larry Campbell, Dean Parks and more, performed the song on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno on NBC, Thursday, May 3. Here's the line-up for the performance:

Kris Kristofferson - Vocal, Guitar
Larry Campbell - Vocal, Guitar
Teresa Williams - Vocal
Shawn Mullins - Vocal, Guitar
Jonny Lang - Vocal, Electric Guitar
Jeffrey Young - Vocal, Hammond B3
Lee Sklar - Bass
Justin Guip - Drums
Dean Parks - Guitar
Vida Simon - Background Vocal
Gaby Moreno - Background Vocal
Essie Jain - Background Vocal

Due to copyright reasons NBC will not make their web content available worldwide. You can try and see if the official NBC link for the Tonight Show broadcast of May 3 works for your location by clicking → here. If not, you may try with YouTube (see for instance the latest relevant link under the Some Links section of this blog, in the right hand column). Check this one out!

If you want to know more about Lee’s work with Kris Kristofferson you may click on the following links:

Kris Kristofferson
Kris Kristofferson & Rita Coolidge
Rita Coolidge

1 comment: