Friday, January 15, 2021

Craig Mirijanian


Craig Mirijanian - A Perfect Fit
Warner Bros. BSK 3394 (1980) - US LP

Side One

1 - Throwing It All Away
2 - Shuttle To Mars
3 - High On Love
4 - Canʼt Do Without It
5 - After Hours

Side Two

6 - Be True
7 - Sheʼs Waiting*
8 - All Talk
9 - Our Last Chance*
10 - How Long

Craig Mirijanian - Vocals, Lead Guitars, Solo Guitars, Acoustic Guitar, Pianos, Electric Keyboards, Synthesizers, Bass, Violas, Recorders, Tambourine
David Kemper - Drums (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Leland Sklar - Bass (7, 9)*
Leon Gaer - Bass, Synthesized Electric Bass
Bob Glaub - Bass
Scott Chambers - Bass
Mark Goldenberg - Guitar, Acoustic Guitar
Rusty Young - Steel Guitar
Philip Fisher - Fender Rhodes, Grand Piano Arpeggios
Tony Kaye - Organ
Pete Christlieb - Tenor Saxophone
Phil Kenzie - Tenor Saxophone
Steve Forman - Shaker

Produced by Richard Sanford Orshoff
Musical Arrangements by Craig Mirijanian

Joe Chiccarelli - Recording Engineer
David De Vore - Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer
Richard Sanford Orshoff - Mixing Engineer
James Hill - Recordist, Mixing Engineer (with), Additional Engineering
Bino Espinoza - Second Engineer (Tracking)

Recording Studio:
Soundcastle, Los Angeles, California

Mixing Studio:
Village Recorder, Los Angeles, California

Ted Jensen - Mastering Engineer

Mastering Studio:
Sterling Sound, New York

Linda Safan - Assistant To The Producer
Kathleen West - Assistant To The Producer

Mick McGinty - Illustrations
Willardson & White Studio - Design
Richard Seireeni - Art Direction
Jack Kane - Title Concept, Cover Concept
Craig Mirijanian - Cover Concept
Richard Orshoff - Cover Concept
Joe Chiccarelli - Cover Concept

“Special thanks to: // Kathy Cotter // Roger Gordon: publisher, supporter, and friend // Lenny Waronker, Gary Katz, Mo Ostin, Russ Titelman and Warner Bros. Records // Buddy King, Bill Bottrell, and Soundcastle Studios // Chip Young, Michael Bacon, Charlie Black, Shane Keister, and Miles Grandfield // Charlie Lourie, Jan Abbazia, Gail Pierson, and Roz Schrank // Jane David, Dick Le Palm, Gary Starr, Phil Mendelson, Ed Mathews, and The Village Recorder // Scott Chambers and John Bezjian // My friends at Chappell Music // and to Harry and Anita, Love and Gratitude”.

“Recorded on Studer Recorders with Agfa Tape // Mixed on the Neve Necam console”.

“This album is dedicated to Ray Mirijanian // May your dreams and lives become a perfect fit”.

Craig Mirijanian
Kathy Cotter
Jack Kane

source/pic: my records

“Everybody Loves Me” - L.A. Times Now Book Review

A glowing appraisal of Lee's coffe table book “Everybody Loves Me” was published by the L.A. Times Now website a few days ago. You may access the article through the following link:

Book Review: Leland Sklar: “Everybody Loves Me”

“Everybody Loves Me” is a tome consisting of over six-thousand unique portraits, taken by Lee himself, of celebrities and fans in Sklar’s signature pose of flipping the bird.

“Everybody Loves Me” is available for order directly from Lee's new website for $60 or $80 for a signed copy.

Saturday, January 2, 2021

Gaby Moreno & Van Dyke Parks

Gaby Moreno & Van Dyke Parks - ¡Spangled!
Nonesuch 7559-79255-0 (2019) - US CD

1 - Across The Borderline
2 - Alma Llanera
3 - The Immigrants
4 - Historia De Un Amor
5 - Nube Gris
6 - Iʼll Take A Tango
7 - Esperando Na Janela
8 - El Sombrerón (Revisited)
9 - O, Cantador
10 - Espérame En El Cielo

Notes: 1) CD album does not come with track-by-track musician credits. 2) CD album comes with liner notes “A Pan-American Anthem, A 21st Century Troubadour” by Betto Arcos. Please refer to CD album booklet for these.

Gaby Moreno - All Vocals
Leland Sklar - Electric Bass
David Stone - Upright Bass
Marcus Buser - Upright Bass
Jim Keltner - Drums, Percussion (1, 3, 6, 7)
Sebastian Aymanns - Drums, Percussion
Ry Cooder - Guitar Solo
Grant Geissman - Guitars, Mandolin
Ira Ingber - Guitars
Anthony Wilson - Guitar
Van Dyke Parks - Piano
Celso Duarte - Harp, Vihuela, Requinto
Amy Shulman - Harp
Matt Cook - Marimba, Vibes
Felipe Roseno - Cuica (7)
Yvette Holzwarth - Violins
Linnea Powell - Violas
Aniela Perry - Cello
Phil Feather - Piccolo, Flutes, Oboe, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Mark Pender - Trumpets
Lizzie Upton - French Horns
Jackson Browne - Guest Vocal

Produced by Gaby Moreno and Van Dyke Parks
Orchestrations and Vocal Arrangements by Van Dyke Parks

Doug Lacy - Recording Engineer
Craig Parker Adams - Recording Engineer
Martin Pradler - Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer, Additional Mixing Engineer
Charly Segura - Recording Engineer
Fabio Pinczowsky - Recording Engineer
Al Schmitt - Mixing Engineer

Mixing Studio:
Capitol Studios

Bernie Grundman - Mastering Engineer

Mastering Studio:
Bernie Grundman Studios

Alexander Tovar - Music Prep
Bobby Halvorson - Music Prep

Gaby Moreno Management: Gil Gastelum Cosmica Artists
Van Dyke Parks Management: Barry Taylor MCT Management

Klaus Voormann - Cover Art, Booklet Sketch
Glen Nakasako at Smog Design, Inc. - Design
Sandra Singh - Photographs

Twitter: @thevandykeparks
Instagram: parksvandyke

Gaby Moreno
Manuca Almeida
Rafael Bolívar Coronado
Dory Caymmi
Ry Cooder
Jim Dickinson
Raimundinho do Acordeon
Carlos Eleta Almarán
Targino Gondim
Pedro Elías Gutiérrez
Alex Harvey
John Hyatt
Francisco López Vidal
Eduardo Márquez Talledo
Nelson Motta
David Rudder
Ari Shine

source/pic: my records